You are here

New to CML

Hello everyone,

My name is Gene. I was diagnosed with CML last Tuesday and have started on Sprycel 100 mg. I took my second dose yesterday. I want to know if any of you have taken Tylenol for the headache and if it works. Obviously I’m new to this and some of you have gone much further down the road and have experience that I need to know about. Another aspect of this drug is here in the US it is very expensive. Does anyone know of a source which is reliable and affordable?

My husband was diagnosed last year.he didn't have headache but has bad muscle pain and his doctor asked him to take ibuprofen,and drink lots of water.I think Bristol myer Squibb has some type of financial assistance .

Thank you and,

Thank you An
I’ve only been taking the medication for four days, I have experienced debilitating headaches and pain in the flat bones of my body . I spoke to my doctor today and he told me to take a two day break and then we would consider re-initiating the med.

I hope and pray your husband’s treatment is successful and he can reach a remission.

Hi,

I suggest you have a look at the website of CML Society of Canada.One of their campaigns is to make CML drugs more affordable to patients in USA and Canada

I believe that branded Sprycel came off patent earlier this year which allows for generic dasatinib products to be brought on to the pharma market and normally these are cheaper than the branded version.There is a process though and it takes some time and that is all new generic drug products have to be approved by the individual regulatory authorities for each country so that they are safe and also equivalent to the original branded version.As well patent expiry dates might vary from country to country.Canada has applications from two providers of generic dasatinib which are pending but it seems at this moment in time there are no generic dasatinib drugs on offer in USA-they may be pending but would have to be approved by FDA.