You are here

Applying for Permanent Residency in Australia

Hi,
My son has recently become a citizen in Australia, which gives my wife Julie and I the opportunity to apply for a Contributary Parent Visa there. The long term plan is hopefully to retire out there.
Unfortunately, with being diagnosed with CML in August 2010 this may well affect the Australian Immigration authorites decision on giving approval as would normally be the case.
I'm fortunate that the response to the Dasatinib medication (Spirit 2 trial) has been excellent and I hit MMR on the last reading,so they may look at the situation sympathetically. If anybody else has been through the application for Permanent Residency process or has any advice, I'd love to hear from them.
Many Thanks
Dave Marsland

Hi Dave, good news about your MMR. You might find some help and advice here

http://www.leukaemia.org.au/web/

Best wishes,
Sandy

I have no direct experience but my sister in law emigrated on one of those visa's. They used a company who got them the visa's which took about two years. All well and good.
Now I don't know how old you are - but they were coming up to retiring age and had a son living there, so gave his name as their sponsor. They paid in excess of £30K to join the Oz health service (due to their age of 60+) and left the UK. Only when one of them became unwell did they realise that this only covered in-patient hospital treatment! All drugs and outpatient visits had still to be paid for from their own pockets - and were not cheap or subsidised, so I would seriously suggest you take out private insurance as well - and make sure it will more than cover the cost of your TKI's each year.