You are here

CML Stories

Categories:

Hi everyone! 

I am very new to the CML life, I was diagnosed in April 2021, previously very healthy (never smoked, did drugs, or had alcohol, worked out everyday, eat plenty of fruits and veggies) NOBODY in my family has any kind of cancer so the diagnosis is quite the shock to me, I feel very betrayed by my body, like I should've been eating chocolate cake this whole time if I was just going to get something as scary as cancer anyways. I find everyone's stories very comforting and was hoping everyone could share a bit with me about themselves! Things like your age at diagnosis, symptoms that led to your diagnosis, how long you experienced CML symptoms once treatment started, how long you experienced symptoms of your treatment, how long it took you to come to terms with everything and feel normal again? 

I am a 27yr old female, I was diagnosed when I went to the doctor complaining of severe muscle pain (has this happened to anyone else?), I also started experiencing night sweats, lost 10 pounds and two lymph nodes were a little bigger than usual, since I am just barely two months into treatment the only thing I have really noticed is more of an appetite, and I have gained back the weight I lost. I still get night sweats (so annoying). I am on 400mg of imatinib and I noticed my skin is itchier than usual and my hair is a bit thinner (does this get better with time?) I feel very sad most days, I just want to feel normal again, and I am very grateful I found this forum to talk to all of you.