You are here

CML - My fluctuating BCR-ABL/ABL level

Categories:

Hi everyone!

I graduated in the UK when I was diagnosed with CML (Chronic Myeloid Leukemia) back in June 2022, at the age of 22. The initial test results indicated that I was in the Chronic Phase, with a BCR-ABL/ABL level of 29.4%. I was prescribed Imatinib 400mg, and initially, the results were surprisingly good:

3 months: 0.18% (I returned to my home country but continued using the same 400mg of Imatinib)
6 months: 0.034%
12 months: 0.031%
These results were well below the threshold of the best response according to ELN guidelines. However, it seems that the numbers have remained stable and have not decreased further:

15 months: 0.031%
18 months: 0.019%
21 months: 0.014%
24 months: 0.024% (current result)
This is the first time my BCR-ABL/ABL level has increased, and although it is still below 0.1%, indicating that I am still in Major Molecular Response (MMR), I am a bit concerned. Should I consider switching to other drugs? Would it be advisable to undergo genetic mutation tests or have more frequent tests?

I would appreciate any advice or discussions on this matter. I hope you are all doing well.

Best regards,
Season

Hi Season,

The primary goal with our treatment is to achieve MMR, which is of course 0.1%, and you achieved that way ahead of the "optimal" schedule.

The recent rise is not anything to worry about. Results that low do tend to bounce up and down a bit. Even if you tested the same blood sample twice you would get two slightly different results.