You are here

Changing to Second Gen TKI's

Categories:

Hi,
This is my first time on here and the conversations seem really useful and supportive. I was diagnosed with CML last June and have been on Imatinib which has got my BCR-ABL to c1%. I have had minimal side-effects and the battle has been largely a mental one, other than the initial shock and unpleasant tests and balancing doses with variable blood test results etc.
Consultants have now advised to move to Bosutinib which seems to have a lot more potential side effects. I'm sure there are very good medical reasons for this but I have also noticed more limited supplies of Imatinib recently.
Has anyone else switched treatments and with what results please? Is there any advice or suggestions for managing side effects and what to look out for?
Looking at the threads on here, this seems to be a very long-term battle with lots of ups and downs along the way. Getting help and support on here could be really invaluable. I'm also interested in alternative therapies for immune system and mental health support.
Thanks in advance for any experiences or recommendations.
Best wishes to everyone going through this.
Jonty

Hi Jonty,

If you are a year in on treatment and down to 1%, that itself is a strong reason for switching. Ideally you’d be down to 0.1% by now. If you were a little bit more than that your doctor would probably persevere with imatinib, but 1% is a bit too high to ignore so a switch is the right idea.

Out of the 2nd-line, 2nd generation drugs bosutinib is generally considered the most ‘gentle’ and with lowest grade side effects. Dasatinib can he hard on lungs, nilotinib can be tough on your heart.

Don’t worry too much about the long list of documented side effects, the way these are put together is anything that was reported by patients during clinical trials has to be put down as a potential side effect. This is why you’ll see things like weight gain, and weight loss as side effects!